Extract from the inventory of objects of 2006 of the Kantonale Denkmalpflege Graubünden (cantonal historic monuments section of Grisons):

The Engihuus is situated in the Valendas village centre. The oldest part of the building is a small farmhouse with a brick Feuerhaus (fire building) and a rope-constructed residential and sleeping section, which dates from the year 1517 based on a dendrochronological analysis. It forms the southern, fountain-oriented wing of today’s building complex. At a later point in time, an inversely corresponding building was built which was linked to the original building with a central development wing. The gabled façade of the building is oriented towards the Brunnenplatz (fountain square), although there is only one direct access to the former Wirtsstube (lounge of the inn) from there. The main entrance lies on the axis of the middle corridor and opens towards the cantonal road.
Around 1674, an annex, with a loggia oriented towards the Brunnenplatz (fountain square), was added in the westward direction using rope construction (Strickbauweise). Today’s appearance of the façades tracts back to a renovation in the late 19th century.

It is only partially handed down to us, what the building has experienced in all these years. For sure, it was first used as a farmstead, thereafter as inn «Stern» („star“) and as village store. The last owner was named Engi and gave the building its until recently customary name „Engihuus“. Engi was the last postman registered in the official timetable who delivered the post with a team of horses daily up to Dutjen. Newspaper report

For some 20 years, the building was unoccupied and was involved in the historic village shape of Valendas only through its façade. In 2009, the municipality of Valendas donated the Engihuus to the foundation Valendas Impuls with the proviso that the historic building be used in the interest of the village community. The Gasthaus am Brunnen (Inn at the Fountain) shall help to secure work in the village and to generate – together with the project «faszinatur Valendas Rheinschlucht» direct added value for farmers, tourism providers, people involved in culture, local suppliers and creative minds.

For the renovation and expansion, the renowned architect and ETH professor from the Grisons, Gion A. Caminada could be retained. What a stroke of luck for Valendas! It is a matter of particular concern to him to transform the building in a way that it meets the modern standards of its future users and that it fits harmoniously into the context of the village centre. It is due to his architecture that it will be possible to achieve what the foundation hopes for: The reconstruction of a building worthy of protection and the creation of a vibrant meeting place in the village, which forms strong bonds between the local people and friends of Valendas and grows a powerful community.

AUSSCHNITT AUS DEM OBJEKTINVENTAR 2006 DER KANTONALEN DENKMALPFLEGE GRAUBÜNDEN:

Das Engihuus liegt im Dorfzentrum von Valendas. Beim ältesten Teil des Bauwerks handelt es sich um ein kleines Bauernhaus mit gemauertem Feuerhaus und gestricktem Wohn- und Schlafteil, das mittels dendrochronologischer Untersuchung in das Jahr 1517 datiert wurde. Es bildet den zum Brunnen orientierten, südlichen Trakt des heutigen Gebäudekomplexes. Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt entstand ein spiegelbildlich entsprechender Bau im Norden, der durch einen zentralen Erschliessungstrakt mit dem ursprünglichen Gebäude verbunden wurde. Die Giebelfassade des Hauses orientiert sich zum Brunnenplatz, obwohl von dort nur ein direkter Zugang zur ehemaligen Wirtsstube besteht. Der Haupteingang liegt in der Achse des mittleren Korridors und öffnet sich zur Kantonsstrasse.
Im Westen wurde um das Jahr 1674 ein Anbau in Strickbauweise mit zum Brunnenplatz orientierter Loggia hinzugefügt. Das heutige Erscheinungsbild der Fassaden geht auf einen Umbau des späten 19. Jahrhunderts zurück.

Was das Haus in all dieser Zeit erlebte, ist nur zum Teil überliefert. Sicher diente es zuerst als Bauern-Wohnhaus, dann als Gasthaus «Stern» sowie als Dorfladen. Der letzte Besitzer hiess Engi und verlieh dem Haus seinen bis vor kurzem gebräuchlichen Namen «Engihuus». Engi war der letzte im Amtlichen Kursbuch offiziell verzeichnete Posthalter der Schweiz, der die Post noch mit seinem Pferdegespann täglich nach Dutjen hinauf brachte. Zeitungsbericht

Rund 20 Jahre lang stand das Haus leer und brachte sich einzig mit seiner Fassade ins historische Dorfbild von Valendas ein. 2009 schenkte die Gemeinde Valendas der Stiftung Valendas Impuls das Engihuus mit der Auflage, das historische Gebäude im Interesse der Dorfgemeinschaft zu nutzen. Das Gasthaus am Brunnen soll mithelfen, Arbeit im Dorf zu erhalten und zusammen mit dem Projekt «faszinatur Valendas Rheinschlucht» direkte Wertschöpfung zu generieren für Bauern, Tourismusanbieter, Kulturschaffende, einheimische Zulieferer und kreative Köpfe.

Für Renovation und Ausbau konnte der renommierte Bündner Architekt und ETH-Professor Gion A. Caminada gewonnen werden. Ein Glücksfall für Valendas! Ihm ist es ein Anliegen, das Haus so umzugestalten, dass es den modernen Ansprüchen seiner zukünftigen Nutzer entspricht und sich harmonisch in den Kontext des Dorfkerns einfügt. Mit seiner Architektur wird das möglich, was sich die Stiftung vom Umbau erhofft: Die Instandstellung eines schützenswerten Hauses und gleichzeitig die Schaffung eines lebendigen Treffpunkts im Dorf, der Einheimische und Freunde von Valendas zu einer kraftvollen Gemeinschaft zusammenschweisst.